14th December – Today In Our Footballing History

14/12/1996 Belfast Albania 2-0 Iain Dowie (2)

Tommy Wright, Ian Nolan, Gerry Taggart, Colin Hill, Barry Hunter, Kevin Horlock, Steve Morrow (Gerry McMahon), Steve Lomas, Iain Dowie (James Quinn), Neil Lennon, Michael Hughes

Addressing Albanian journalists Northern Ireland manager Bryan Hamilton said: “I wish you a safe journey home, a happy Christmas – and hope I’ll still be in the job when we play you in Tirana.”

Later the manager claimed: “I was joking – unless you have heard something different … I think we can maybe qualify after this result. I’ve always said this is the Group of Death and events are proving me right. Now bring on Portugal – we’ll stuff it to them on a wet night in March.”

Iain Dowie confessed: “I would have been overjoyed to knock in a goal with my backside. It has been a long drought.”

Dowie leads from front while defence holds firm

Dowie’s double delight

hqdefault

453

Northern Ireland Footballing Greats

footballdatabase.eu

Leave a Reply

